This is an old revision of the document!
Table of Contents
Privacy & Privacy Controls
glFusion has always used a privacy by design approach, meaning privacy of data has always been a primary design goal. There are several configuration options that control how a user controls their privacy settings and also allows the site admin to determine what capabilities are available.
Privacy Configuration Settings
- Allow User Photo
Configuration → Users and Submissions, this setting determines whether you will allow users to upload a profile photo or avatar.
- Allow Account Deletion
Configuration→ Users and Submissions, this setting determines if a user can delete their account. It is recommended that you set this to True, allowing users to delete their account if they no longer wish to participate on the site. By allowing a user to delete their account, you are providing them the Right to be Forgotten.
Privacy Policies should address the following items:
- What information is being collected?
- Who is collecting it?
- How is it collected?
- Why is it being collected?
- How will it be used?
- Who will it be shared with?
- What will be the effect of this on the individuals concerned?
- Is the intended use likely to cause individuals to object or complain?
External Services integrated into glFusion
Many times there is a privacy concern when utilizing external services such as Google's reCAPTCHA, Stop Forum Spam (enabled by default), Project Honey Pot or Akismet to help reduce bot and spam traffic. For this reason, glFusion always makes available protection methods that do not rely on external services, but we feel these services offer valuable protection services and do recommend their use. We have reviewed the privacy policies for each of the services listed above and are very comfortable using them. We recommend you review their privacy policies as well and make your own determination:
User Privacy Settings
Once an account has been created, the user will have the ability to customize what information is displayed such as on line status, whether they wish to receive emails, etc.
User's can modify their privacy settings in the
My Account → Privacy area.
Also under the My Account settings is a tab labeled About You. Here a user can enter additional personal information about themselves, including a URL or homepage, Location, Photo (if enabled through configuration), Tag Line, About, PGP Key and any social site memberships.
All of this information is optional.
Deleting a User
When a user is deleted from glFusion, all of their profile data is purged from the system.
Several plugins may also store preference information - this data is also purged.
User Submitted Content
glFusion has several areas where a user can submit content:
- Forum Posts
- Media items
- and several other items depending on the plugins installed
How user content is handled when a user is deleted varies based on the type of content.
- Stories are not deleted when a user is deleted. The story's author and owner attributes are set to Anonymous. The contents of the story are unchanged.
- Comments are not deleted when a user is deleted. The comments created by the user are all converted to Anonymous, removing all user attributes from the comment. The contents of the comment are not changed.
- Forum Posts
- Forum posts are not deleted when a user is deleted. The forum posts created by the user are converted to Anonymous, removing all user attributes from the post. The contents of the forum posts are not changed.
- Media Gallery Items
Media Gallery has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.
Move Content - If enabled, all content for the deleted user is moved to another user - removing any identifying information from the media item attributes. The media item is not modified.
Delete Content - If enabled, all Media Gallery items created by the user will be deleted.
- Static Pages
Static Pages has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.
Delete Pages with Owner
If this is set to True, any static pages owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any static pages owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
- Calendar Events
Calendar has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.
Delete Events with Owner
If this is set to True, any events owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any events owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
- Any files owned by the deleted user will have their ownership changed to Anonymous.
Links has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.
Delete Links with Owner
If this is set to True, any links owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any links owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
Polls has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.
Delete Polls with Owner
If this is set to True, any polls owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any polls owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
Any poll votes owned by the deleted user are changed to anonymous.
- Other Plugins
- Please check the plugins documentation on how user deletions are handled.
You should consider downloading and installing the Privacy Plugin which adds additional privacy controls. Specifically:
- Cookie Consent Bar
- Download of Personal Information