glFusion Wiki

Site Tools


glfusion:privacy

Privacy & Privacy Controls

glFusion has always used a privacy by design approach, meaning privacy of data has always been a primary design goal. There are several configuration options that control how a user controls their privacy settings and also allows the site admin to determine what capabilities are available.

Privacy Configuration Settings

Allow User Photo
Located under Configuration → Users and Submissions, this setting determines whether you will allow users to upload a profile photo or avatar.
Allow Account Deletion
Located under Configuration→ Users and Submissions, this setting determines if a user can delete their account. It is recommended that you set this to True, allowing users to delete their account if they no longer wish to participate on the site. By allowing a user to delete their account, you are providing them the Right to be Forgotten.
EU Cookie (Configuration → Spam / Bot Protection)
If set to True, a cookie is set in the user's browser to identify the user by IP address. This allows additional checks on submitted forms to help identify bots that automatically try to submit data to a site. If set to False no cookie is set.

Privacy Policy

Every site should have a Privacy Policy available to current and potential users. The Privacy Policy should clearly state what data your site collects about the user and how the site handles this data. If data is shared with any other organizations or systems, this should be clearly documented for full transparency.

Privacy Policies should address the following items:

  • What information is being collected?
  • Who is collecting it?
  • How is it collected?
  • Why is it being collected?
  • How will it be used?
  • Who will it be shared with?
  • What will be the effect of this on the individuals concerned?
  • Is the intended use likely to cause individuals to object or complain?

glFusion comes with a default Privacy Policy available through the Static Page admin area. The static page is called privacy-policy. The default text should be used as a starting point and you should validate the claims and customize the policy to meet your sites needs.

Out of the box - glFusion does not set or require any cookies that contain personal data.

glFusion stores and retrieves information on your browser using cookies. This information is used to make the site work as you expect it to. It is not personally identifiable to you, but it can be used to give you a more personalized web experience. Specifically, we store your language preference in a cookie. We also store a session identifier which allows consistent use of the site as you navigate from page to page.

Do not use the default Privacy Policy without validating and customizing it to meet your needs

The Privacy Policy should be easy to access with a link that is clear and available to all users, both logged-in and anonymous.

The default Footer menu or footer blocks on a new glFusion installation has the Privacy Policy link in place. If you customize the footer blocks or footer menu, be sure to update the links appropriately.

External Services integrated into glFusion

Many times there is a privacy concern when utilizing external services such as Google's reCAPTCHA, Stop Forum Spam (enabled by default), Project Honey Pot or Akismet to help reduce bot and spam traffic. For this reason, glFusion always makes available protection methods that do not rely on external services, but we feel these services offer valuable protection services and do recommend their use. We have reviewed the privacy policies for each of the services listed above and are very comfortable using them. We recommend you review their privacy policies as well and make your own determination:

If you utilize any of these external services through glFusion, update your Privacy Policy on your web site to reflect that data is passed to these external providers.

User Privacy Settings

Once an account has been created, the user will have the ability to customize what information is displayed such as on line status, whether they wish to receive emails, etc.

User's can modify their privacy settings in the My Account → Privacy area.

About You

Also under the My Account settings is a tab labeled About You. Here a user can enter additional personal information about themselves, including a URL or homepage, Location, Photo (if enabled through configuration), Tag Line, About, PGP Key and any social site memberships.

All of this information is optional.

Deleting a User

When a user is deleted from glFusion, all of their profile data is purged from the system.

Several plugins may also store preference information - this data is also purged.

User Submitted Content

glFusion has several areas where a user can submit content:

  • Stories
  • Comments
  • Forum Posts
  • Events
  • Media items
  • and several other items depending on the plugins installed

How user content is handled when a user is deleted varies based on the type of content.

Stories
Stories are not deleted when a user is deleted. The story's author and owner attributes are set to Anonymous. The contents of the story are unchanged.
Comments
Comments are not deleted when a user is deleted. The comments created by the user are all converted to Anonymous, removing all user attributes from the comment. The contents of the comment are not changed.
Forum Posts
Forum posts are not deleted when a user is deleted. The forum posts created by the user are converted to Anonymous, removing all user attributes from the post. The contents of the forum posts are not changed.
Media Gallery Items
Media Gallery has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.

Move Content - If enabled, all content for the deleted user is moved to another user - removing any identifying information from the media item attributes. The media item is not modified.

Delete Content - If enabled, all Media Gallery items created by the user will be deleted.
Static Pages
Static Pages has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.

Delete Pages with Owner
If this is set to True, any static pages owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any static pages owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
Calendar Events
Calendar has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.

Delete Events with Owner
If this is set to True, any events owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any events owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
FileMgmt
Any files owned by the deleted user will have their ownership changed to Anonymous.
Links
Links has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.

Delete Links with Owner
If this is set to True, any links owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any links owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.
Polls
Polls has a configuration option to determine what to do when a user is deleted.

Delete Polls with Owner
If this is set to True, any polls owned by the deleted user will be deleted.
If this is set to False, any polls owned by the deleted users will have the ownership changes to a Root user.

Any poll votes owned by the deleted user are changed to anonymous.
Other Plugins
Please check the plugins documentation on how user deletions are handled.

Privacy Plugin

You should consider downloading and installing the Privacy Plugin which adds additional privacy controls. Specifically:

  • Cookie Consent Bar
  • Download of Personal Information
  • Require acceptance of Privacy Policy prior to registering
glfusion/privacy.txt · Last modified: 2018/05/11 02:27 (external edit)