Plugins allow you to extend the functionality of your glFusion powered site. The Plugin Administration area allows you to install, upgrade, remove, and turn on / off plugins to your site.
You can visit the glFusion Plugin Download Area to browse available plugins.
Plugin Administration Screen
The Plugin Administration screen allows you to do the following:
glFusion allows you to easily upload new plugin packages to your site and automatically install them. Simply choose the plugin to upload, then glFusion will perform the following checks to ensure the plugin is compatible with your hosting environment and your glFusion site:
Validate that the installer has the proper file system permissions to copy the plugin files to the appropriate directory. Any issues found will be reported so you can correct and try again.
Validate the PHP version and the glFusion version to ensure they will both support the plugin.
Validate if the plugin has any dependencies on other plugins and that they are installed.
Once the environment has been validated, glFusion will copy the plugin's files to the appropriate directories and run the installation routine.
Installing is as simple as choosing the plugin package to upload and pressing Upload:
Once you've selected and uploaded the plugin package, the following screen displays. This screen provides some additional information about the plugin. Select Install to complete the installation process.
Upgrading a plugin follows the same steps as installing a plugin. Once the plugin has been uploaded, glFusion will check to ensure the environment is correct and present the following confirmation screen:
Select Upgrade, the updated plugin will automatically be installed.
Selecting Cancel at this screen will leave the current installed version of the plugin intact and remove the temporary copy of the uploaded update.
Turning a Plugin On or Off
You can temporarily disable a plugin if you wish. Simple un-check the Enabled box and the plugin will no longer be active. The plugin's files and settings will remain intact to allow you to re-enable the plugin at a later date.
Delete a Plugin
You can remove a plugin from glFusion by choosing to delete the plugin. Please note that deleting a plugin will delete all the database tables associated with that plugin, so the data cannot be recovered unless you have a valid database backup.
Once deleted, the plugin's files remain on the system, if you wish to remove it completely, you will need to manually delete the plugin's files or use the automatic removal option described below.
Automatically Removing Plugin Files
Once a plugin has been deleted (the database tables removed and the plugin uninstalled from glFusion), you can automatically delete all of the plugin files by selecting the UnPlug icon. This will physically remove the plugin files from your web site.
We try to maintain an up-to-date list of all glFusion plugins at the www.glfusion.org web site.
Manually Installing a Plugin
Each plugin should come with its own set of installation instructions. The general method to manually install a plugin in glFusion follows these guidelines.
Download the Plugin
You can find plugins for glFusion at the glFusion Web site or from various plugin author's sites. You will need to download the plugin to your local system, extract the package, and follow the plugin author's instructions when copying it to your web site in the next step.
Upload the Plugin to Your Web Site
Generally, plugins follow a standard packaging model, where the directory layout will be similar to this:
+ root \
The files in the admin\ directory will need to be copied to the following directory on your web site:
public_html\admin\plugins\pluginname -- Replace pluginname with the name of the plugin.
The files in the public_html\ directory will need to be copied to the following directory on your web site:
public_html\pluginname - Replace pluginname with the name of the plugin
The remaining files will need to be copied to the following directory on your web site:
private\plugins\pluginnmae -- Replace pluginname with the name of the plugin.
If you have copied everything correctly, the plugin should now appear in the New Plugin list in the Plugin Administrator.