glFusion Wiki

Site Tools


glfusion:configuration:polls

Polls Plugin

How do the polls work?

In order to prevent manipulation of polls (or at least make it harder), glFusion does two things when you vote:

  1. It stores a cookie
  2. It stores your IP address

Both the cookie and the IP are valid for a certain amount of time (see below) and during that time, you can't vote again on the same poll.

The amount of time your cookie and IP are stored can be changed in the polls plugin configuration.

  • Voter Cookie Valid for…
  • Voter IP Address Valid for…

Both times are in seconds, i.e. the cookie is valid for 24 hours and the IP is stored for a week.

In setups where more than one person uses the same computer or the same IP address, you can set one (or both) of them to 1.

Please keep in mind that any poll can be manipulated, so you shouldn't take the results too seriously.

Polls Configuration Options

Polls Login Required
When set to True, only registered users can access the list of recent polls. Please note that Login Required in glFusion's main configuration takes precedence over this setting. So when that is set to True, anonymous users can not access the Polls section even when Polls Login Required is set to False.
Hide Polls Menu Entry
Whether to hide the “Polls” entry from glFusion's menu bar (when set to True) or to show it (when set to False).
Max. Questions per Poll
Maximum number of questions in a poll.
Max. Options per Question
Maximum number of options per question.
Sort Results
Sort answers by the number of results ('By Votes') or keep the order in which they were entered ('As Submitted').
Voter Cookie Valid For
Number of seconds to set a poll answer cookie to time out on.|
Voter IP Address Valid For
Number of seconds to set a poll answer IP address to time out on.
Delete Polls with Owner
Defines what to do when a user is deleted that is the owner of a poll. When set to False, all polls owned by the deleted user will be assigned to a user of the “Root” group (i.e. the site admin). When set to True, the polls are deleted, including all the comments posted on that poll.
After Saving Poll
Which page to go to after a poll has been saved:
  • 'item': display the poll
  • 'list': show admin's list of polls (default)
  • 'plugin': display the public list of polls
  • 'home': display the site's homepage
  • 'admin': go to the “Admin Home” page, (i.e. Command & Control)
Poll Default Permissions[0]
The default Owner permissions for the Poll editor. The settings here will determine what permissions are checked (Read only, or Read/Write), or unchecked (No access) by default in the Owner box of the Permissions panel in the Poll editor. Options are No access, Read only, or Read/Write.
Poll Default Permissions[1]
The default Group permissions for the Poll editor. The settings here will determine what permissions are checked (Read only, or Read/Write), or unchecked (No access) by default in the Group box of the Permissions panel in the Poll editor. Options are No access, Read only, or Read/Write.
Poll Default Permissions[2]
The default Member permissions for the Poll editor. The settings here will determine what permissions are checked (Read only, or Read/Write), or unchecked (No access) by default in the Member box of the Permissions panel in the Poll editor. Options are No access, Read only, or Read/Write.
Poll Default Permissions[3]
The default Anonymous permissions for the Poll editor. The settings here will determine what permissions are checked (Read only, or Read/Write), or unchecked (No access) by default in the Anonymous box of the Permissions panel in the Poll editor. Options are No access, Read only, or Read/Write.
glfusion/configuration/polls.txt · Last modified: 2017/04/12 21:11 (external edit)

Page Tools