By: appie252001 (offline)  Sep 17 2011 06:02 am (Read 882 times)  

Hi,

I installed the slate theme, and have the “Custom profiles” and “Forms” plug-in also installed. In the admin menu there is no “Custom profile” item anymore, and the translated menu item is now showing the Forms. So there is no menu item anymore in the admin for the Custom profiles.

Normally the Forms menu items are placed in the user and admin menu, but it looks like the translation is wrong. The translation in Dutch for Curtom profiles is now “Aangepaste Profielen”, and is showing the Forms.

Is this a wrong setting from me in the admin or is there a problem whit the combination of the Profile and Forms plug-in?

Thanks,

Albert

   

appie252001



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/03/07

Posts: 72
By: lgarner (offline)  Sep 17 2011 10:25 am  

First, did the menu display correctly with the default theme? I can't see anything that would change due to the theme. The Forms plugin doesn't include a dutch language file at all, so it should be in English.

Also, is the language also incorrect if you go to the Command and Control area?

   

lgarner



Group Comfort
Level:
: +52
Registered:: 06/10/08

Posts: 1949
By: appie252001 (offline)  Sep 19 2011 04:04 am  

Hi,

I remember I changed also something else, in the siteconfig I changed the “default_charset” to utf-8. I changed it back now, and all menu references are correct again. And the forms menu item is back again.

Sorry, this has nothing to do with the theme but with another issue, that a part of the menu still is in English. When changing the “default_charset” to utf-8 more of it was in Dutch. But only then the problem occur with the wrong menu reference for the custom profile and the missing menu for the forms.

On another site I don’t have the forms plug-in installed, and there the menu reference to the custom profile is correct. It looks like there is a difference between the two language files, or I am doing something wrong when changing the charset to get the Dutch language right on more parts of the site and the menu?

So, to change the question of this topic, how do I change the language of the menu items and some parts of the site to Dutch?

Albert

   

appie252001



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/03/07

Posts: 72
By: lgarner (offline)  Sep 19 2011 09:46 am  

It's odd that the language strings get mixed, but to get Dutch into the menus you'll need to translate the language files. Each plugin has a language directory (private/plugins/<plugin_name>/language) which contains its language strings in separate files: english.php, dutch.php, etc. There is also (usually) a UTF-8 version: english_utf-8.php, dutch_utf-8.php, etc.

The Forms plugin does not have a Dutch translation, so it should be using english.php. The Profile plugin does have a Dutch language file, UTF-8 only. It's probably safe to copy dutch_utf-8.php to dutch.php, but I'm not completely sure. It is safe with the English file.

Each language file sets a global variable for the plugin, which is why I don't know how they're getting mixed. Forms sets $LANG_FORMS while Profile sets $LANG_PROFILE.

   

lgarner



Group Comfort
Level:
: +52
Registered:: 06/10/08

Posts: 1949
By: appie252001 (offline)  Sep 19 2011 10:27 am  

Lee,

I have a Dutch translation in my “private/plugins/forms/language” directory, maybe there was one in the beginning. It is a file from august 2010, when I started with the forms for the first time (this was your first not released beta version). I added the file so you could see. There is also a Swedish one.

A lot of text is the same, maybe that’s why it is using the wrong text for the profile, because it’s also in the forms translation.

About the utf-8, because there are more translations in utf-8 for Dutch, should I only change this in the siteconfig, or are there more actions I have to take to change this?

Thanks …..

Albert

   

appie252001



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/03/07

Posts: 72
By: appie252001 (offline)  Sep 19 2011 10:29 am  

OK, an error with the file, maybe it is working as a zip file …..

   

appie252001



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/03/07

Posts: 72
6 posts :: Page 1 of 1
All times are CDT. The time is now 09:13 am.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic w/ New Post Sticky Topic w/ New Post
Locked Topic w/ New Post Locked Topic w/ New Post