By: StarWarsGuy (offline)  Aug 29 09 @ 2:06  (Read 3134 times)  

I have a favicon.ico in my /public_html directory. When you go to my page, it appears until the page finishes loading, and then it goes to a blue square. (The same blue square appears as the site icon for glfusion.org)

I've tried clearing the cache in C&C. The icon appears as page loads, and then goes to blue box.

Any idea how I can keep my favicon [img]http://www.StarWarsGuide.net/favicon.ico[/img]active Question

BTW, I checked your favicon [img]http://www.glfusion.org/favicon.ico[/img] and it doesn't seem to be working on your site either. Confused

I'm using IE8 and cross checking with Chrome.

   
Forum Junior
Junior

StarWarsGuy




Group Comfort
Level:
: 0
Registered:: 08/27/09
Posts: 16
By: Mark (offline)  Aug 29 09 @ 8:54   

If you want to replace the facicon and you are using the Nouveau theme (default for glFusion), please your favicon.ico in the public_html/layout/nouveau/ directory, that should pick it up so it will always be used.

Thanks!
Mark


Join me on the glFusion Gitter Channel

   
Forum Admin
Admin

Mark



Group Comfort
Level:
: +113
Registered:: 10/21/05
Posts: 7401
Location: The Great State of
Texas
By: PBX-Tech (offline)  Aug 29 09 @ 9:54   

I am having the same problem. I tried your suggestion Mark and also tried the public_html/layout/nouveau/images directory, no luck. I am currently on glFusion 1.1.5.pl2 and also expirienced it with the last release. I have performed a ctrl-F5 and a Clear Cache in Command & Control.


Rhett

   
Forum Junior
Junior

PBX-Tech



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/11/09
Posts: 23
Location: San Diego
By: Mark (offline)  Aug 29 09 @ 10:37   

I did mistype the previous post. The favicon.ico should go in the public_html/layout/nouveau/images/ directory.

If we look at the htmlheader.thtml template, it has the following line:

PHP Formatted Code

<link rel="SHORTCUT ICON" href="{layout_url}/images/favicon.ico"{xhtml}>
 


Based on this, it should pick up the correct icon if placed in the layout/nouveau/images/ directory.

You may need to clear the template cache (Command & Control -> Clear Cache) and that should do it.

Thanks!
Mark


Join me on the glFusion Gitter Channel

   
Forum Admin
Admin

Mark



Group Comfort
Level:
: +113
Registered:: 10/21/05
Posts: 7401
Location: The Great State of
Texas
By: PBX-Tech (offline)  Aug 30 09 @ 1:02   

You may need to clear the template cache (Command & Control -> Clear Cache)



Tried that and it didn't make a difference. I know it's there, when I type mysite.com/layout/nouveau/images/favicon.ico I see it.


Rhett

   
Forum Junior
Junior

PBX-Tech



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/11/09
Posts: 23
Location: San Diego
By: Mark (offline)  Aug 30 09 @ 8:04   

I think browsers really like to cache the favicon. I replaced the one here, cleared the cache, hit ctrl-f5, still showed the old one. I exited my browser, ran ccleaner (which clears the browser cache), loaded the site and there it was!

Thanks!
Mark


Join me on the glFusion Gitter Channel

   
Forum Admin
Admin

Mark



Group Comfort
Level:
: +113
Registered:: 10/21/05
Posts: 7401
Location: The Great State of
Texas
By: PBX-Tech (offline)  Aug 30 09 @ 5:59   

Thanks Mark, that worked.


Rhett

   
Forum Junior
Junior

PBX-Tech



Group Comfort
Level:
: +1
Registered:: 06/11/09
Posts: 23
Location: San Diego
7 posts :: Page 1 of 1