Forum Index >  glFusion >  Theme Support New Topic Post Reply
 New glFusion Look
First | Previous | 1 2 | Next | Last    |  Printable Version
By: ecchi_goshujinsa (offline)  May 03 2010 05:13 am (Read 2879 times)  
ecchi_goshujinsa

Greetings,

I was wondering if the current and new look/theme on the glFusion site is going to stay exclusive to the site itself or if there was any possible way in which you guys would be able to share the new look for the rest of the community?

I personally really love the new look, very clean and friendly, easy to navigate.

Thanks

Favorate Quote: "I would like to change the world, but they won't tell me the source code."
Forum Junior
Junior


Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

Registered: 03/24/09
Posts: 32

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: bisdak (offline)  May 03 2010 05:23 am  
bisdak

Real cool look team I like the new theme very much. Just about to embark on the upgrade process.

A million thanks team will report on my findings later to day.

Regards

Tita T

Tita T
------
ex University of San Carlos Cebu | Sta Tomas Manila
Proudly Visayan now living in Europe
------


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +6

Registered: 08/14/09
Posts: 344
Location: Shrewsbury UK

Profile      
  Quote
By: suprsidr (offline)  May 03 2010 07:36 am  
suprsidr

Good job guys, looks great.

-s

Forum Regular Member
Regular Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +3

Registered: 12/21/06
Posts: 74

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Geiss (offline)  May 03 2010 09:03 am  
Geiss

I was wondering if the current and new look/theme on the glFusion site is going to stay exclusive to the site itself or if there was any possible way in which you guys would be able to share the new look for the rest of the community?



It will be released eventually, once we work out the bugs and stuff with it. Big Grin

Thx!

Eric


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +58

Registered: 02/15/07
Posts: 2097
Location: Boise, Idaho

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: TechSys (offline)  Jun 20 2010 20:49 pm  
TechSys

Anxiously awaiting this. For some reason I can't stand the default theme and need a change.

Not trying to rush you though.

Forum Newbie
Newbie

Group Comfort
Level:
: +1

Registered: 12/11/05
Posts: 12
Location: Jacksonville

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Geiss (offline)  Jun 24 2010 10:52 am  
Geiss

Did you see this post on the dev mailing list?


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +58

Registered: 02/15/07
Posts: 2097
Location: Boise, Idaho

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: TechSys (offline)  Jun 24 2010 16:38 pm  
TechSys

Geiss, no I didn't see that post. Thank you. Fixing to try it out.

Forum Newbie
Newbie

Group Comfort
Level:
: +1

Registered: 12/11/05
Posts: 12
Location: Jacksonville

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Geiss (offline)  Jun 24 2010 16:44 pm  
Geiss

Let me know how it goes. I'd appreciate any feedback. Wink


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +58

Registered: 02/15/07
Posts: 2097
Location: Boise, Idaho

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: TechSys (offline)  Jun 25 2010 14:29 pm  
TechSys

On a pretty much clean install of glfusion. Pretty sure I'll have to do some modifications to get it right so this stuff is probably on my part.

Got this showing right under the header:

PHP Formatted Code
[staticpage_content:slate_featured]



Not sure where that came from and don't remember seeing it right after I installed the theme. Probably something I messed up.

Login and password boxes on left instead of login link at top.

Still have right and left blocks. Not a big deal, but they are blending in with everything else.

Last night something in the admin area messed up. The links on the left were all garbled up into the main part of the screen.

Fluid doesn't work on 1680 x 1050 screens. Everything is in the center. No problem here though.


Other than that, everything seems great. I want to get my articles block as a header link (like the admin only link with dropdown menu). I think that's something I have to mess with.

Like I say everything so far is probably on my setup and something I have to customize myself. No problem there, yet.

Love the theme.

Forum Newbie
Newbie

Group Comfort
Level:
: +1

Registered: 12/11/05
Posts: 12
Location: Jacksonville

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: ecchi_goshujinsa (offline)  Jun 25 2010 16:02 pm  
ecchi_goshujinsa

I just seen the link for the theme and i'm uploading it now for testing. I'm already liking how it contains a lot LESS files than the nouveau theme. I will test it and report any bugs on my end to further help in the development of this theme.

Thanks again for all the work you guys have done. =D

Favorate Quote: "I would like to change the world, but they won't tell me the source code."
Forum Junior
Junior

Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

Registered: 03/24/09
Posts: 32

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Geiss (offline)  Jun 26 2010 19:12 pm  
Geiss

Got this showing right under the header:
PHP Formatted Code
[staticpage_content:slate_featured]


Not sure where that came from and don't remember seeing it right after I installed the theme. Probably something I messed up.



Create a static page named slate_featured, and the text will be replaced with your static page. It's maaaaaagic! Wink

Login and password boxes on left instead of login link at top.



Yep, menu items don't come as part of the theme, you need to set them up yourself. Go into C&C>>Menu Builder and create your menu with login links at the top.

Still have right and left blocks. Not a big deal, but they are blending in with everything else.



So turn the blocks off and call them via a static page with a tag. That's all we did here at glFusion.org, is put a static page as the default for the front page and then added some autotags to blocks and formatted them.

Last night something in the admin area messed up. The links on the left were all garbled up into the main part of the screen.



So is it still messing up?

Fluid doesn't work on 1680 x 1050 screens. Everything is in the center. No problem here though.



Don't know what you have going on there. My 1920x1080 screen renders it fluid fine. See attached screenshot.

Overall, remember that this layout is still in alpha. There needs to be some maturity in the autotag code used in templates to achieve the more advanced template logic that I want to implement. I'm waiting on some additional help from the PHP gurus on that. Wink

I'm already liking how it contains a lot LESS files than the nouveau theme.



That's because we don't have to include files that haven't changed from nouveau. Keep in mind though that you can't just delete the nouveau layout directory, as this theme is a 'child' theme to nouveau.

Thx!

Eric


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +58

Registered: 02/15/07
Posts: 2097
Location: Boise, Idaho

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: ecchi_goshujinsa (offline)  Jul 10 2010 21:16 pm  
ecchi_goshujinsa

A few things while testing the slate theme.

1) Translation block: images doesnt show when being used with the theme. Works fine on Nouvaeu.

2) When using the theme as fluid, any submenu that is close to the right hand side will not show the submenu correctly. (see attachment)

One last note which i'm not sure its a bug or not but it seems that there is a big gap between the submenu and the sub-submenu.

I'll report more as I keep testing. For being an alpha theme, it seems very stable in my opinion. Again, awesome job on the theme. Thumbup

Favorate Quote: "I would like to change the world, but they won't tell me the source code."
Forum Junior
Junior

Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

Registered: 03/24/09
Posts: 32

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Geiss (offline)  Jul 12 2010 14:21 pm  
Geiss

Yep, like I said, it's an alpha. The translations stuff is purposely not in there as I'm deciding if I want to include it just inline when creating the block from the php function, so that we minimize the size of the stylesheets. For the time being, just copy and paste the relevant code out of nouveau's style.css file:

PHP Formatted Code
/* Auto Translations css */
.autotranslations {
list-style-image:none;
list-style-position:outside;
list-style-type:none;
padding:0;
width:160px;
display:block;
}
.autotranslations li {
float:left;
margin:0 5px 5px 0;
background:url(images/translations/sprite-flags.png) no-repeat top left;
width:16px;
height:11px;
}
.autotranslations li.sprite-ar { background-position: 0 0; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-bg { background-position: 0 -12px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-ca { background-position: 0 -24px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-cs { background-position: 0 -36px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-da { background-position: 0 -48px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-de { background-position: 0 -60px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-el { background-position: 0 -72px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-en { background-position: 0 -84px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-es { background-position: 0 -96px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-fi { background-position: 0 -108px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-fr { background-position: 0 -120px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-hi { background-position: 0 -132px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-hr { background-position: 0 -144px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-id { background-position: 0 -156px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-it { background-position: 0 -168px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-iw { background-position: 0 -180px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-ja { background-position: 0 -192px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-ko { background-position: 0 -204px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-lt { background-position: 0 -216px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-lv { background-position: 0 -228px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-nl { background-position: 0 -240px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-no { background-position: 0 -252px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-pl { background-position: 0 -264px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-pt { background-position: 0 -276px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-ro { background-position: 0 -288px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-ru { background-position: 0 -300px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-sk { background-position: 0 -312px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-sl { background-position: 0 -324px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-sr { background-position: 0 -336px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-sv { background-position: 0 -348px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-tl { background-position: 0 -360px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-uk { background-position: 0 -372px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-vi { background-position: 0 -384px; }
.autotranslations li.sprite-zh-CN, .autotranslations li.sprite-zh-TW { background-position: 0 -396px; }
.autotranslations img {
height:11px;
width:16px;
}



into slate's style.css file, and the block will render properly.

Re: using the fluid theme with submenus on the right most menu entry, yep, that's a artifact of the css we call from menu builder. I haven't figured out a good way to fix it yet (other than hack the css file directly, but there's no need to hack it unless you experience that issue. So, I'm thinking that I may include a modified file in the custom plugin css directory which if you rename it will activate it for those users that need the menu to text justify to the right, so the links stay on the page.

I'm not seeing a gap between the sub-menu and the sub-sub-menus. Here's what I'm seeing. What are you seeing?
Click on image to download

Thanks for the testing and feedback! Thumbup


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +58

Registered: 02/15/07
Posts: 2097
Location: Boise, Idaho

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: ecchi_goshujinsa (offline)  Jul 13 2010 01:42 am  
ecchi_goshujinsa

Ok cool, actually I really want to stray away from the translation block and put it on the footer similar to how it shows on glfusion.org so i'll hold off on putting that code on the css file, but thanks for noting that.

I've attached the image that shows the space between submenus.

One more thing that i found strange that the terms and privacy links show in between "{site_name}" and "All rights reserved" in the footer but when checking footer.thtml its not there so I dont see any way of removing it.

PHP Formatted Code
<div style="font-size:10px; line-height:20px;">
                    {copyright_notice} {site_name}&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;All Rights Reserved<br />
                    {execution_textandtime} <?php if (SEC_inGroup( 'Root' )) { echo "glFusion v" . GVERSION . PATCHLEVEL; } ?>
                </div>



I attached pic for the above.

Thanks =)

Favorate Quote: "I would like to change the world, but they won't tell me the source code."
Forum Junior
Junior

Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

Registered: 03/24/09
Posts: 32

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Geiss (offline)  Jul 13 2010 08:51 am  
Geiss

Have you made any changes to the slate/plugins/sitetailor/gl_horizontal-cascading.thtml file? The menu looks like you perhaps shortened the width, but didn't also compensate by shortening the left margin of the sub sub menus, so they'll offset and still line up the same amount. I believe the default is 177px, so if you've changed the width to something less, you also need to adjust the margin on the sub sub menus to match.

For the footer, my guess is that perhaps you have the Terms and Privacy links specified in your language files, so that when the template renders the {sitename} tag, it is including it from the language file. If that's not the cause, turn on View Template Comments in Page Source and see where exactly that template is coming from. Perhaps you have a custom footer.thtml file that you forgot about?


Forum Active Member
Active Member

Group Comfort
Level:
: +58

Registered: 02/15/07
Posts: 2097
Location: Boise, Idaho

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
New Topic Post Reply

First | Previous | 1 2 | Next | Last

 All times are CST. The time is now 08:11 pm.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic w/ New Post Sticky Topic w/ New Post
Locked Topic w/ New Post Locked Topic w/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to Post 
HTML Allowed 
Censored Content