Forum Index >  glFusion >  glFusion Support New Topic Post Reply
 favicon keeps going to blue box
   |  Printable Version
By: StarWarsGuy (offline)  Aug 29 2009 14:06 pm (Read 2112 times)  
StarWarsGuy

I have a favicon.ico in my /public_html directory. When you go to my page, it appears until the page finishes loading, and then it goes to a blue square. (The same blue square appears as the site icon for glfusion.org)

I've tried clearing the cache in C&C. The icon appears as page loads, and then goes to blue box.

Any idea how I can keep my favicon [img]http://www.StarWarsGuide.net/favicon.ico[/img]active Question

BTW, I checked your favicon [img]http://www.glfusion.org/favicon.ico[/img] and it doesn't seem to be working on your site either. Confused

I'm using IE8 and cross checking with Chrome.

Forum Newbie
Newbie


Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 14

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Mark (offline)  Aug 29 2009 20:54 pm  
Mark

If you want to replace the facicon and you are using the Nouveau theme (default for glFusion), please your favicon.ico in the public_html/layout/nouveau/ directory, that should pick it up so it will always be used.

Thanks!
Mark

Forum Admin
Admin

Group Comfort
Level:
: +110

Registered: 10/21/05
Posts: 6296
Location: The Great State of
Texas

Profile      
  Quote
By: PBX-Tech (offline)  Aug 29 2009 21:54 pm  
PBX-Tech

I am having the same problem. I tried your suggestion Mark and also tried the public_html/layout/nouveau/images directory, no luck. I am currently on glFusion 1.1.5.pl2 and also expirienced it with the last release. I have performed a ctrl-F5 and a Clear Cache in Command & Control.

Rhett


Forum Junior
Junior

Group Comfort
Level:
: +1

Registered: 06/11/09
Posts: 23
Location: San Diego

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Mark (offline)  Aug 29 2009 22:37 pm  
Mark

I did mistype the previous post. The favicon.ico should go in the public_html/layout/nouveau/images/ directory.

If we look at the htmlheader.thtml template, it has the following line:

PHP Formatted Code

<link rel="SHORTCUT ICON" href="{layout_url}/images/favicon.ico"{xhtml}>
 


Based on this, it should pick up the correct icon if placed in the layout/nouveau/images/ directory.

You may need to clear the template cache (Command & Control -> Clear Cache) and that should do it.

Thanks!
Mark

Forum Admin
Admin

Group Comfort
Level:
: +110

Registered: 10/21/05
Posts: 6296
Location: The Great State of
Texas

Profile      
  Quote
By: PBX-Tech (offline)  Aug 30 2009 01:02 am  
PBX-Tech

You may need to clear the template cache (Command & Control -> Clear Cache)



Tried that and it didn't make a difference. I know it's there, when I type mysite.com/layout/nouveau/images/favicon.ico I see it.

Rhett


Forum Junior
Junior

Group Comfort
Level:
: +1

Registered: 06/11/09
Posts: 23
Location: San Diego

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
By: Mark (offline)  Aug 30 2009 08:04 am  
Mark

I think browsers really like to cache the favicon. I replaced the one here, cleared the cache, hit ctrl-f5, still showed the old one. I exited my browser, ran ccleaner (which clears the browser cache), loaded the site and there it was!

Thanks!
Mark

Forum Admin
Admin

Group Comfort
Level:
: +110

Registered: 10/21/05
Posts: 6296
Location: The Great State of
Texas

Profile      
  Quote
By: PBX-Tech (offline)  Aug 30 2009 17:59 pm  
PBX-Tech

Thanks Mark, that worked.

Rhett


Forum Junior
Junior

Group Comfort
Level:
: +1

Registered: 06/11/09
Posts: 23
Location: San Diego

Profile Email Website  
  Quote
New Topic Post Reply


 All times are CDT. The time is now 08:47 pm.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic w/ New Post Sticky Topic w/ New Post
Locked Topic w/ New Post Locked Topic w/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to Post 
HTML Allowed 
Censored Content