Forum Index >  glFusion >  glFusion Support New Topic Post Reply
 problem with sending mail
First | Previous | 1 2 | Next | Last    |  Printable Version
By: TekSerMan (offline)  Feb 05 2009 22:42 pm (Read 3205 times)  
TekSerMan

firstly hello to all, i'm new to glfusion been a nuke user for a long time now and decided it's time to try somethin new, so far i like this glfusion it's lite on resources which is a definate plus for me! the problem i'm having at present is (still in testing phase) when a user registers or when i try to send a test email the "unfortunately, the was a problem sending mail" or somethin close to that message comes up and there's no report of anything being wrong in my web server logs or what's worse on the screen which makes this a hard problem to track, does anyone have an idea what the root cause can be?

thanks
TekserMan

Forum Newbie

Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

Profile Email    
By: Mark (offline)  Feb 05 2009 22:54 pm  
Mark

Generally, when you see that message it means that glFusion was unable to connect to the mail server to send the message.

Take a look at the configuration for mail (Command & Control -> Configuration) and make sure you have the proper mail settings. You might even post what they are here so we can take a look.

For example, on my laptop (running Vista), I don't any mail or SMTP services running, so I get that same error on my development site (using WAMP on Windows). But, if I configure the mail system to use an outside SMTP server, it works fine.

Also, there is usually a more detailed message in the glFusion error.log file (Command & Control -> Logs). If there is more info there, post it here and we'll see if it helps isolate the problem.

Thanks!
Mark

Forum Admin
Admin

Group Comfort
Level:
: +111

Texas

By: TekSerMan (offline)  Feb 05 2009 23:14 pm  
TekSerMan

thanks for the rapid response Mark!

thought i'd give you a copy of the log entry: